Operating a motorcycle in Kentucky is a thrill for many, but knowing how to drive one safely and legally is imperative. Specific to Kentucky, you can only operate a motorcycle on the highway if you meet three preconditions:
To obtain a motorcycle license, you must first qualify for a motorcycle driving permit by being at least 18 years of age or having a valid regular driver’s license. Just as there is a probationary period for driving a vehicle, the same is true for a motorcycle with an instruction permit being issued for six months if you are under 21 and for 30 days if older than 21. Additionally, if you are under the age of 18 with only an instruction permit then you cannot carry any passengers and the motorcycle cannot be operated between midnight and 6 AM unless you can demonstrate a justifiable cause for doing so such as emergency or work. For insurance, the owner of the motorcycle must have at least liability insurance and license the bike through their County Clerk’s office. In 2000, the Kentucky state legislature repealed the helmet law for anyone over the age of 21 and having had a valid motorcycle license for at least one year. However, although a helmet is not required, it is strongly encouraged that everyone wears one for safety.
Shopping for motorcycle insurance has never been easier than by using the talented and professional team at the Worthington Insurance Group. We’ll take the time to learn about your specific circumstances and tailor an insurance policy with coverages that meet or exceed your needs. Give Worthington Insurance Group a call today to learn more.